Feds Reject New Barriers to Voter Registration Requested by Three States

Wednesday, Jan 22, 2014

Yesterday, the U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) denied requests from Arizona, Kansas, and Georgia to change the National Mail Voter Registration Form (the Federal Form) that would require new voter registration applicants to provide additional proof of U.S. citizenship.

"The true intent behind these states' requested change was to disenfranchise eligible citizens, most of whom would be citizens of color," said Jerry Vattamala, staff attorney at the Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund (AALDEF). "Arizona, Kansas, and Georgia have histories of discrimination against Asian Americans. No other state requires such arduous requirements and the states requesting the change had not produced any evidence of non-citizens registering to vote."

The EAC decision cites to arguments advanced by AALDEF in its public submission to the EAC against altering the Federal Form, which was established as part of the National Voter Registration Act (NVRA). Congress enacted the NVRA to promote voter registration and to specifically eliminate state-imposed voting requirements that disproportionately harmed voter participation by racial minorities. The request by Arizona, Georgia, and Kansas was at odds with the very purpose of the NVRA and was correctly denied.

The EAC's decision follows the U.S. Supreme Court ruling last June striking down Arizona's illegal voter registration law.

"When Arizona, Kansas, and Georgia submitted requests for additional proof of citizenship, they claimed that they wanted to protect the integrity of elections. By denying their requests, that is exactly what the EAC has done," said Vattamala.

View the decision >>


Feb. 25: DACA renewal and immigration know your rights clinic at Brooklyn Law School


New AALDEF guidance on Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)


Remembering AALDEF board member Vivian Cheng-Khanna,1955-2017


2017 AALDEF exit poll: 2,538 Asian American voters polled in 4 states: VA, NJ, NY, MA


Nov. 15-16: AALDEF calls on Asian Americans to mobilize in DC for a clean DREAM Act


Feb. 15, 2018: AALDEF lunar new year gala honoring Preet Bharara, Linda Greenhouse, and Chan Lee


Oct. 1: DACA renewal clinic at Flushing Library


AALDEF denounces ending of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals; new DACA fact sheet


Federal appeals court upholds ruling in AALDEF case that Texas election law violates Voting Rights Act


AALDEF denounces introduction of RAISE Act to restrict legal imigration


AALDEF exit poll presentations in Miami, Las Vegas, Atlanta & San Diego


AALDEF statement on the president's voter fraud commission


Screening of new PBS film "Chinese Exclusion Act" and Q&A with Ric Burns and Li-shin Yu on May 23


New AALDEF report: The Asian American Vote in 2016


AALDEF joins amicus brief in State of Hawaii's challenge to revised Trump travel ban


AALDEF condemns Trump Administration's revamped anti-immigrant travel ban


AALDEF joins Korematsu Center amicus brief in challenge to Trump travel ban in Brooklyn federal court